Local legislative races take shape

There are races shaping up in Districts 7 and 4.

District 7 is the city of Brookings and a few adjacent townships.

Republican State Senator Larry Tidemann is seeking reelection and is being challenged by Democrat Mary Perpich.

On the House side, Democrat Spence Hawley is seeking reelection and is joined by fellow Democrat Linda Brandt and Republican Tim Reed. The three are vying for two seats. State Representative Scott Munsterman announced earlier he’s not seeking reelection.

District 4 is the rest of Brookings County as well as Codington, Deuel and Grant Counties.

Republican Representative Fred Deutsch of Florence is seeking reelection. Also running for the house are Republican Jason Kettwig of Milbank and Democrat Matt Rosdahl of Clear Lake.

Running for the state Senate in District 4 are Democrat and former legislator Kathy Tyler and current Republican Representative John Wiik. Both are from Big Stone City.

There is only one Brookings County Race thus far and that is for States Attorney with Deputy States Attorney Abigail Howard facing off against current Beadle County Deputy States Attorney Dan Nelson.

So far, there are just two candidates for two Brookings County Commission seats. Incumbent Ryan Krogman has filed as has former Brookings City Council Member Mike Bartley. Incumbent Tom Yseth is not running.

Yesterday at five p.m. was the filing deadline so it’s possible additional state candidates could have filed by mail and will be added later.

In addition, Independent candidates have until April 26th to file.