SPORTS 3-27-14

Women’s Basketball:  
   Minnesota @ South Dakota State (Live on Ranch AM910 @ 6:30)

RANGERS HOCKEY…The Brookings Rangers defeated Viewmont, UT 9-2 Wednesday to open play at the national tournament in Omaha.
   The Rangers will face a South Carolina team Thursday in game two of pool play.

SDSU WNIT…The Minnesota Golden Gophers visit South Dakota State Thursday in a third-round WNIT matchup.
Game time at Frost Arena is 7:00pm
   The Jackrabbits defeated Butler, and trailed Creighton by double-digits before rallying to win.  Guard Gabby Boever says that poor start showed they need to play with focus, and some urgency.  97633   :15   “needed to be”.
   Guard Rachel Banham is expected to play for the Gophers, but forward Mariah Clarin says Minnesota’s post game presents a challenge.  97634   :16  “play good defense”.
   Boever’s a Minnesota native, but putting a lot of significance on playing the Gophers.  97635   :22   “a Minnesota fan”.
   Minnesota has defeated Wisconsin-Green Bay and Southern Methodist in the tournament. 
   The SDSU-Minnesota winner will play the Indiana-Northwestern winner in the “Elite Eight” round.

SDSU BASEBALL…The Summit League baseball schedule starts this weekend with South Dakota State at Western Illinois Friday, and at Omaha Sunday.
   The Leathernecks feature the pre-season pitcher of the year with Tom Constand, but Jacks’ head coach Dave Schrage says he hasn’t gotten much offensive help.  97628   :14   “scoring any runs”.
   Omaha’s undefeated at home this season – Schrage says the Jacks fall victim to a quirky schedule.  97629   :18   “time a year”.
   SDSU does have one of the top ten defensive clubs in the country.  Creighton’s also in that group – the remainder are warm-weather teams. 

SDSU EQUESTRIAN…South Dakota State’s equestrian team hosts the Independent Championship Friday and Saturday at DeHaan Equestrian Center.  Action each day begins at 9:00am, and will run until about 6:00pm each day – the event is open to the public.
   Team member Danielle Baker talked about how the tournament will work.  97636   :35   “then Western reining”.
   Junior Madison Engels says it’s been three weeks since the last competition, but the Jackrabbits are excited.  97637   :14   “of the year”.
   The tournament winner will advance to the national championships next month in Waco, Texas.

PESICKA OUT…Yankton High School will do something it hasn’t done in nearly a quarter century – find a new girls’ basketball coach.
   Doug Pesicka is stepping down after 22 years at the post.  He says he’s not ready to give up coaching, but it is time to move on to other things.
   He says another Yankton coach – Bob Winter – and his high school coach – Roger Schaeffer – influenced his coaching style.  Pesicka says he stressed defense and rebounding.  97638   :42   “of the ball”.
   Pesicka sent about 20 players on to collegiate programs, and has coached many more good people.  97639   :27   “that very thought”.
   Pesicka says his eyes opened quickly during his first coaching job at Estelline.  97621   :47   “than people think”.
   Pesicka says a lot of golf, some snow skiing, and Mrs. Pesicka’s “honey-do” list are in his future.

SF LINCOLN VB CHANGE…Lisa Lunning is stepping down as Sioux Falls Lincoln volleyball coach due to family circumstances.
   Lunning, a former Augustana player and graduate assistant, took over the job in 2012 to replace Erika Paladino-Hazlett, who had guided the Patriots to consecutive state titles.
   Lincoln failed to reach the Class AA state tournament both years under Lunning, finishing 12-15 last season.

3-CLASS SHOOTOUT…The 27th Annual 3 Class Shoot-Out basketball all-star game will be held Saturday in Salem. All three classes in both boys and girls will be represented.
2:00 - “AA” Girls vs “A” Girls
3:45 - “B” Girls vs Winner of first game
5:15 - “AA” Boys vs “A” Boys
DUNK CONTEST after first boys game
7:00 - “B” Boys vs Winner of third game
Class “AA” Girls: Coach: Jason Christensen, DWU
   Macy Miller, Mitchell; Ellie Benson, S.F. Washington; Kahlie Peterson, Sturgis; Hailey Halling, Harrisburg; Morgan Beaner, Harrisburg; Katelyn Severyn, Pierre; Paige Mriden, S.F. Roosevelt; Emilee Pierson, S.F. Lincoln; Kaitlyn Hadley, Brookings
Class “A” Girls: Coach: Todd Schlimgen, Mt. Marty
   Kennedy Wagner, Chamberlain; Keely Bertram, Elk Point/Jefferson; Madison Kuehl, West Central; Haley Edmundson, Garretson; Becca Glanzer, Mt Vernon/Plankinton; Moira Duffy, St Thomas Moore; Josie Huber, Vermillion; Ali Lacey, West Central; Cassidy Hanson, Winner; Anna Keefe, Sioux Valley
Class “B” Girls: Coach: Brian Ortmeier, DSU
   Shelby Selland, Sanborn Central/Woonsocket; Miranda Ristau, Warner; Grayson Gruenhagen, DeSmet; Chesney Nagel, Avon; Remi Wientjes, Sully Buttes; Alexa VanLaecken, Mitchell Christian; Erin Benson, Chester; Allie Walter, Baltic; Chloe Nielson, Canistota; Shelby Reed, Estelline
Class “AA” Boys: Coach: Matt Wilber, DWU
   Tyler Nagy, Brookings; Justin Decker, Huron; Steven Schaefer, R.C. Stevens; Caleb Carr, Huron; JJ Hejna, Yankton; Nic Peterson, Brandon Valley; Jordan Terronez, Watertown; Cooper Walton, Pierre; Jason Spicer, S.F. Roosevelt; Jesse Poppen, Watertown
Class “A” Boys: Coach: Andrew Baker, Mt. Marty
   Trae VandeBerg, Madison; Skyler Bertram, Chamberlain; Jordan Cornelius, Sisseton; Cody Willett, Canton; Deric Denning, Mt Vernon/Plankinton; Mitchel Heumiller, Mobridge/Pollock; Brendon Boomsma, Tri Valley; Ryan Sabers, Tea; Tyrell Harper, Vermillion; Zach White, Dell Rapids
Class “B” Boys: Coach: Jacob Brandl, DWU
   Jake Anderson, Parker; Seamus O’Malley, Centerville; Blake Bartscher, Ethan; Nathen Wedel, James Valley Christian; Lucas Ching, Castlewood; Darren Fallis, Corsica/Stickney; Jack Huether, Viborg/Hurley; Andrew Ulvestad, James Valley Christian, Cole Casper, Lake Preston; Matt Rohrbach, Aberdeen Christian

SPORTS HOF…Tickets are on sale for the 2014 South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame banquet to be held Saturday, April 12, at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.
   All tickets are being handled exclusively by Dakota Sports in Sioux Falls (1-800-888-2193). Tickets are $40 through April 9 with a limited number of tickets available for $50 at the door. Tickets for high school age and younger are $20.
   A social hour starts at 4:30 p.m. with the dinner at 6 and the program at 7.
   Nine people will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, bringing the membership to 245.
   Ted Kessinger and Mel Tjeerdsma, two of the nation’s greatest small-college football coaches, are among the inductees. Also chosen were three former South Dakota State athletes: Jay Dirksen, Herb Bartling and Arnold “Nig” Johnson. Other honorees are football player Dick Callahan, basketball player Jack Theeler, baseball player Doug Stanford and softball pitcher Paul Ferrie.
   The Hall of Fame was established by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association in 1968 and is now an independent non-profit organization.


A   A   A