SPORTS 7-23-14

Sr. Legion Regional at Watertown
--Bandits vs. Watertown, 1:00pm (Live on KBRK 1430)
Jr. Legion State Tournament at Aberdeen
-- 'Chutes vs. Brandon (10:00)
Bombers Maroon @ Sioux Falls East, DH, 5:00pm, Harmodon Park
Bombers Black @ Regional in Huron
-- vs. Watertown (2:30)
-- vs. Aberdeen (5:00)

Sr. Legion Regional at Watertown
Jr. Legion State Tournament at Aberdeen
Bombers Gray @ Sioux Falls Central, DH, 5:00PM. Harmodon Park
Bombers Black at Regional in Huron
-- vs. Renner (5:00)
Little League Majors League Tournament (Times TBA)

BANDITS…Cody Shepardson’s two-run, walk-off, homer in the sixth inning gave the Brookings Bandits a 13-3 win over Renner in opening round play of the Region 1A American Legion baseball tourney in Watertown.
Shepardson finished with two hits, two RBI and two runs scored. Sam Schutt had two hits, Jared Tschetter tripled, and Thomas McMacken and Corey Roach each doubled to lead the Brookings offense.
Roach pitched one and two-thirds innings before he was removed due to an apparent hand injury. Jordan Lerdal pitched four and one-third innings of three-hit relief for the win.
Mason Koch homered for Renner. Post 307 scored twice in the fifth inning on no hits, a hit batsman, an error and two fielder’s choices. Matt Koch started, and took the loss.
In other games, Renner defeated Harrisburg 11-0…Watertown defeated Aberdeeen 11-1 and Aberdeen eliminated Harrisburg with an 18-8 win.
Wednesday’s schedule has Brookings against Watertown at 1:00pm…Aberdeen against Renner at 4:00pm…and the Bandits-Watertown loser against the Aberdeen-Renner winner at 7:00pm.

REGION 2A…Scores and pairings for the Region 2A American Legion baseball tournament in Yankton.
Tuesday, July 22
Mitchell 6, S.F. East 1
Yankton 5, Brandon Valley 3
S.F. West 4, Mitchell 0
Wednesday, July 23
GAME 4: S.F. East vs. Brandon Valley, 1 p.m.
GAME 5: Yankton vs. S.F. West, 4 p.m.
GAME 6: Game 4 winner vs. Mitchell, 7 p.m.

BOMBERS GRAY… The Mitchell Gold teener baseball team swept Brookings Bombers Gray in a doubleheader Tuesday at Mitchell.
Mitchell won 10-9 and 12-2.

SDGA GOLF… Max Donohue of Sioux Falls shot a final-round 67 on Tuesday at Broadland Creek Golf Course to win at the SDGA Junior Championship for the third consecutive year.
Donohue and Katie Bartlett of Pierre were the winners in the 16-18 age group, while Will Grevlos of Sioux Falls and Brooke Piearson of Brookings were 14-15 champs.
Donohue finished at 139 to win by four shots over first-round leader Alex Shattuck of Sioux Falls. Yankton’s Jace Guthmiller was third at 144. Donohue’s 67 was the best round of the day by five shots.
Bartlett won on the first playoff hole over Parkston’s Sydney Bormann after both finished at 150. Kali Trautman of Clear Lake was third at 151.
Grevlos shot 146 to win by five shots over Jacob Lee of Parkston. Piearson shot 166 and won by nine shots over Natalie Young of Rapid City.

SDSU SOFTBALL COACH…Wayne State softball coach Krista Wood has been named the new head coach at South Dakota State.
Wood takes over the Jackrabbit softball program after eight seasons at Wayne State, where she posted an overall record of 270-154, with a 133-60 mark in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.
In her eight years at Wayne State, Wood turned the Wildcat program into a winner, inheriting a program that posted a 10-34 record in 2006 to a school record 43 wins in 2010, when Wayne State earned its first-ever berth in the NCAA Division II Super Regional.
The most prolific coach in school history, Wood coached 31 all-conference performers, eight All-Central Region selections, four All-Americans and one All-Central Region Pitcher of the Year at Wayne State. She also coached 40 NSIC All-Academic Team selections and six Academic All-Americans.
Wood served two seasons as an assistant coach at St. Cloud State University, where she helped lead SCSU to records of 34-25 in 2005 and 33-24 in 2006, as the Huskies finished second and third in the North Central Conference during her stay.
Collegiately, Wood was a standout at Nebraska-Omaha, leading the Lady Mavs to the 2001 Division II national title.

BOWLING AWARDS…Several individuals will be recognized during the South Dakota Bowling Association’s Hall of Fame ceremony August first and second in Pierre.
Those to be honored:
Superior Performance: Casey Gerry, Rapid City; Danita Allen, Chamberlain; John Sharkey, Rapid City; Brady Badger, Pierre
Meritorious Service: Deborah Bjelland, Rapid City
Pioneer Award: Helen Louison, Rapid City
Distinguished Honorees:
Family of the Year; George & Jan Martin Family, Brandon
Youth Awards:
Coach of the Year: Pat Raffety, Milbank
Promoter of the Year: Evelyn Meier, Sioux Falls
Star of Tomorrow: Collin Lovejoy, Wakonda; Cody Henrichsen, Pierre


A   A   A