Neuharth Award ceremony delayed

   VERMILLION, S.D. (AP) - The Freedom Forum and the University of South Dakota have delayed the 27th presentation of the Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media until next year.
     The ceremony honoring the yet-to-be-named recipient was planned for Oct. 3 during Dakota Days homecoming festivities, but the co-sponsors say the honoree had an unavoidable conflict.
     The award named for the USA Today founder has been given annually since 1989. Past recipients include Tom Brokaw, Jim Lehrer and Garrison Keillor.
     The Freedom Forum and USD say the date and details of the next presentation will be announced later. The organizations have agreed to continue the award in honor of USD alumnus and Freedom Forum founder Al Neuharth, who died earlier this year at the age of 89.

Filed Under :  
Topics : Human Interest
Social :
Locations : South Dakota
People : Al NeuharthGarrison KeillorJim LehrerTom Brokaw
A   A   A