Brookings School District voters will decide on a $32 million dollar bond issue for major work at Hillcrest and medary Elementary Schools.

In District 7, which is Brookings, Aurora and Lake Campbell, there will be Republican primaries for both the state House and Senate.

Current Representative Tim Reed and Julie Erickson have filed for Senate. No Democrats have filed so the winner today is District 7’s next state senator.

Four Republicans have filed for the State House: Former Representative Doug Post along with Matt Doyle, Melissa Heermann and Roger DeGroot. The two selected today move on to November since two Democrats have filed for the the House.

District 8 now includes the rest of Brookings County as well as Kingsbury, Lake and a large part of Miner County. It also has Republican primaries for House and Senate.

On the Senate side, incumbent Casey Crabtree of Madison is being challenged by Heather DeVries of Madison.

There are three Republican candidates for the House. Johns Mills of Volga is an incumbent Representative from District 4 who, due to redistricting, is now in 8. Also running: Lecia Summerer of Wentworth and Timothy Reisch of Howard. No Democrats or Independents filed in Distrcit 8 so today’s winners head to Pierre.

Four Republicans have filed for the three seats up this year on the Brookings County Commission. Today’s primary will eliminate one of them. Anthony Teesdale and Shawn Hostler, both of Brookings as well as Gretchen Weible of Elkton and Kelly VanderWal of Volga have all entered the race. The top three move on to November to face the two independent candidates who have also filed.

Polls are open until 7:00 o’clock tonight.

Here are the 8 vote centers. You may cast your ballot at whichever site is most convenient:

Brookings: Holy Life Tabernacle, Activity Center, Bethel Baptist Church

Aurora Little Hall

Bruce Community Room

Elkton Community Center

Volga Community Center

White McKnight Hall


June 7, 2022