The Brookings School District bond for major work at Hillcrest and Medary Elementary Schools easily passes Tuesday with 3,302 yes votes and 1,451 no votes — that’s 69-percent in favor.

In the District 7 Senate republican primary, Tim Reed wins with 1,446 votes over Julie Erickson’s 957 votes. There is no challenger for this senate seat in the November general election, so Reed will go on to Pierre.

In the District 7 State House primary, the top two Republicans selected last night will move on to the November election. Melissa Heerman was on top with 1,280 votes. Roger DeGroot received 1,245 votes and will also move on to the November election. Doug Post finished third with 1184 votes and Matt Doyle was fourth with 363 votes.

District 8 includes the rest of Brookings County as well as Kingsbury, Lake, and part of Miner County. In that State Senate race last night Casey Crabtree of Madison wins with 3124 votes to Heather DeVries’ 832. Crabtree will head to Pierre as there is no one else running in November. In the District 8 House race, the top two are Tim Reisch of Howard with 3188 votes and John Mills of Volga at 1878. Lecia Summerer was third with 1019. Reisch and Mills head to Pierre since there are no Democrats or Independents running.

In the Brookings County Commission Primary, the top three Republicans move on to November to face two independent candidates. The Republican winners are: Kelly VanderWal with 2,276 votes; Shawn Hostler with 1,275 votes; and Gretchen Weible of Elkton with 999 votes. Anthony Teesdale was a close fourth with 983 votes.

Brookings County voter turnout was 32-percent.


June 8, 2022