Gov. Noem signs bill on foreign ag land ownership

Governor Kristi Noem has signed a bill designed to limit ownership of South Dakota agricultural land.

HB 1231 prevents six foreign governments, their citizens and entities linked to them from acquiring the state’s agricultural assets. Those countries are China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, and Venezuela.

In a statement, Noem emphasized the importance of safeguarding South Dakota’s agricultural heritage while simultaneously addressing concerns about foreign influence in the state’s farming and ranching sectors.

The measure also closes loopholes that previously allowed foreign ownership through domestic entities.

March 5, 2024