Kayla Lounsbury files for Brookings School Board

There is a fourth candidate for Brookings School Board. Kayla Lounsbury has filed, seeking one of the two seats available. The three other candidates are Teresa Binkley, Jessica Gehring and Teri Johnson. The seats are currently held by Melissa Heermann and Van Fishback. Heermann is running for the state House.

There are also a couple of City Council races. There will be an election for the two, three-year seats. Incumbents Leah Brink and Holly Tilton-Byrne have filed as has challenger Bonny Specker.

Also, two people have filed for the single, one-year term. They are Brianna Doran and Andrew Rasmussen.

Current Council Member Wayne Avery is, so far, the lone person to file for the two-year council seat.

Friday at 5:00 pm is the deadline for school board and council candidates to file.


February 23, 2022