Sixth South Dakota tribe bans Gov. Noem

Update, May 14, 2024:

The Yankton Sioux Tribe has not officially banned South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem

Courtney Sully, tribal secretary with the Tribe, says it’s the tribe’s business and claims committee that supports a ban.

Sully says a ban would have to come from a vote of the tribe’s general council, and that has not happened.


Original Story as reported by the AP:


South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem has been banned from entering nearly 20% of the state after another tribe banished her over comments she made earlier this year about tribal leaders benefitting from drug cartels.

The latest developments in the ongoing tribal dispute come on the heels of the backlash Noem has faced for her latest book.

The Yankton Sioux Tribe on Friday became the latest to ban the governor from their lands. That’s now six tribes in all.  The Sisseton-Wahpeton, Oglala, Rosebud, Cheyenne River and Standing Rock Sioux tribes had already taken action to keep her off their reservations.

Noem said in a post on social media that tribal leaders should “ban the cartels from their lands and accept my offer to help them restore law and order.”


May 13, 2024