Two of South Dakota’s three 2024 Presidential Scholars are from Brookings High School

Three South Dakota students have been named 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars and two of them are from Brookings.

Owen O. Burns and Camryn Jean Lounsbery of Brookings High School have both been named Presidential Scholars.

The third from the state is Faith Genzlinger from Winner who attends Howard High School. She was chosen in Career and Technical education.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects students annually based on academic success, excellence in the arts and in technical education, through essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership. There were 161 selected this year.

More than 5,700 candidates qualified, based on outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations.


May 10, 2024