Dems withdraw from District 7 House race

Some changes in the District 7 State House race.

The two Republican candidates were determined at the June 7th primary — they are Melissa Heermann and Roger DeGroot. The two Democratic candidates were Mary Perpich and Lisa Johnsen. Both of them have withdrawn from the race.

Candidates had until August 2 to withdraw and the party had until August 9 to name a replacement. Cole Sartell of Brookings will be running for the state House and he will be the only Democrat on the ballot in District 7.

There have been similar withdrawls in several districts as people filed for the legislature as “placeholders” in order to have more time to find candidates.

On the Senate side, Tim Reed won the June Republican primary and is unopposed in November.


August 10, 2022