Governor Noem signs disaster declaration for December storms in Brookings and 15 other counties

Governor Kristi Noem has declared a disaster in counties impacted by the severe winter storms in December.

The order declares a disaster in Bennett, Brookings, Clark, Day, Deuel, Hamlin, Jackson, Jones, Kingsbury, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Potter, Roberts, Stanley, Todd, and Tripp Counties. The order also states that federal resources are needed to help with the impacts of the storm for state, tribal, and local governments.

This is part of a request for public assistance and a Presidential Disaster Declaration request. An estimated $2.4 million in qualifying costs were incurred during the December storms in the listed counties.

Much of South Dakota experienced hazardous travel conditions, road closures, damage to power infrastructure, and unexpected costs for snow removal from the December storms.


February 10. 2023