Presidential Disaster Declaration issued for December storms in Brookings and 15 other counties

South Dakota has received a Presidential Disaster Declaration for December snowstorms.

This allows the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to help South Dakota local governments in 16 counties statewide recover from infrastructure damage sustained as a result of those severe winter storms

Public infrastructure damage assistance will be provided to the counties of Bennett, Brookings, Clark, Day, Deuel, Hamlin, Jackson, Jones, Kingsbury, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Potter, Roberts, Stanley, Todd, and Tripp.

Federal resources will also help with the impacts of the storm for state, tribal, and local governments.

More than $2.4 million in qualifying costs were incurred during the December storms in the affected counties.


March 1, 2023