Russia imposes sanctions on South Dakota Senator Mike Rounds, two dozen others

Russia has imposed sanctions on 25 Americans, including South Dakota Senator Mike Rounds. Other Americans cited Monday were Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo, and senators Mark Kelly and Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona, Kevin Cramer of North Dakota, Rick Scott of Florida, and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

It also included actors Sean Penn and Ben Stiller.

Moscow says the move is in response to U.S. sanctions against Russians because of the conflict in Ukraine.

The group included business leaders, academics and government officials, who would all be banned from entering Russia.

Previous rounds of Russian sanctions against Americans have included President Joe Biden, lawmakers and business leaders.


September 6, 2022