Sixth candidate, Ronda May, joins crowded Brookings School Board race

There are now six candidates for two available Brookings School Board seats. The latest to file is Ronda May.  She joins Teresa Binkley, Jason Bowes Jessica Gehring, Teri Johnson and Kayla Lounsbury. The seats are currently held by Melissa Heermann and Van Fishback. Heermann is running for the state House.

There are three City Council races. There are three candidate for the two, three-year seats. Incumbents Leah Brink and Holly Tilton-Byrne have filed as has challenger Bonny Specker.

Running for the single, two-year term are incumbent Wayne Avery and challenger Jeremiah Nelson.

Two people have filed for the single, one-year term. They are Brianna Doran and Andrew Rasmussen.

It’s possible there could be additional candidates. Today at 5:00 pm is the deadline to file.


February 25, 2022