Students from 3 more states will be able to pay in-state tuition at SD universities

Students coming from Kansas, Missouri, and Minnesota will now pay in-state tuition rates at South Dakota Board of Regents institutions.

The Regents approved adding the three states to it’s Advantage rate, joining all of South Dakota’s neighbors as well as Colorado, Illinois, and Wisconsin. In total, 11 states are now a part of the tuition program.

Making the decision now allows universities to try and get students from those states to enroll in classes next fall.

Regents hope many of the students will stay in South Dakota after they graduate.


December 15, 2023