Brookings City Council to appoint new member tonight

The Brookings City Council is scheduled to select their new member this evening.

There are five applicants for the Brookings City Council seat that became vacant with the election and swearing in of Ope Niemeyer as Mayor.

Those five applicants are: Bradley Walker, Nate Holden, Julie Erickson, Brianna Doran and Wayne Avery. The Council heard from and asked questions of the five last week.

The person selected will serve just under a year, until next year’s City and School Election when that seat will be up for a one-year term.

Tonight’s meeting is set for 6:00 pm at the Government Center.


May 25, 2021