Some new faces to join Brookings City Council and School Board

Tuesday’s City and School Election in Brookings included one race decided by only NINE votes.

First up, in the three-year City Council race, victory goes to incumbent Holly Tilton Byrne and newcomer Bonny Specker over Leah Brink. It was 1548 votes for Tilton-Byrne, 1430 for Specker and 1381 for Brink. Tilton Byrne and Specker are elected.

Tilton Byrne is excited to have another term…


In the two-year race, current council appointee Wayne Avery wins in his first election bid, easily topping Jeremiah Nelson 1805 to 700…



The one-year council seat was a battle of newcomers and Brianna Doran wins over Andrew Rassmussen BY JUST NINE VOTES, 1279 to 1270…


There were six candidates vying for two open school board seats. Teri Johnson and former board member Teresa Binkley are the winners. Johnson had 1753 votes to 1587 for Binkley followed by Rhonda May at 1045, Jason Bowes at 987, Kayla Lounsbury at 264 and Jessica Gehring at 149.

Turnout in Tuesday’s city election was just under 20-percent of registered voters.

In the Aurora Mayoral race, Josh Jones is the winner with 116 votes to 68 for incumbent Fred Weekes and 1 for Charles Kuechenmeister.


April 13, 2022